8th Annual KAA Golf Tournament

The Golf Committee is excited for 8th Annual KAA Golf Tournament, which is coming up on June 7th at the Emporia Municipal Golf Course (1133 S Highway 99
Emporia, KS  66801).  The tournament will be a four man scramble and include lunch, starting at 12:00.  You can gather up some friends and register your team or register just yourself and we will put you on a team for an afternoon of fabulous fun.  This event is not solely for KAA members, but we would like to have at least one member on each team.

We also welcome, golf hole sponsors for the event.  Sponsors will have a sign at a hole for each $100 given, plus receive recognition in the KAA Sunflower July issue.  If you would like to sponsor or know someone/a company that may like to support our organization for this excellent event, there is a place on the tournament registration form to do so or you can contact Troy Wedel, our Exhibitor/Sponsorship Committee Chairperson, via email.



Retirement auction scheduled for Richard Garvin

All great things must end. On March 4, Richard Garvin, CAI, ATS, CES, GPPA, will be conducting his retirement auction, selling the fixtures in his auction facility in addition to consignment merchandise. While he plans to continue to conduct real estate, coin and firearm auctions, his days of operating a consignment facility in Topeka are coming to a close.

Not only does Richard have a distinguished career as a leader in the auction industry, he has selflessly given back to the KAA, serving as KAA’s president in 2013 and as the presidential appointee in 2015. In 2009, he received the President’s Award of Distinction in recognition and appreciation of his lifetime of dedication and service to the Kansas Auctioneers Association.

The auction will be at RJ’s Auction Service’s Four Corners facility at 15767 S. Topeka Ave in Scranton, Kansas, on Saturday, March 4, beginning at 10 a.m. Learn more at rjsauctionservice.com

The Kansas Auctioneers Association wishes our colleague and comrade Richard the best in his future endeavors, and an enjoyable and relaxing retirement, as we look forward to his friendship and fellowship in our association for many years to come.

2017 KAA Winter Convention recap

The 2017 KAA Winter Convention featured excellent networking opportunities and auctioneer education in addition to the 2017 KAA Auctioneer Championship preliminary round.

It all started off on Thursday evening with the president’s reception, KAA board meeting and the past presidents’ meeting with incoming president, Aaron Traffas. Real estate continuing education courses were held Friday during the day with a required broker core course entitled “RISK – Your Business is Not a Game” by the Wichita Area Association of REALTORS® and an elective course called “Elevating Your Real Estate Auction Service to the 2017 Standards” presented by Marty Higgenbotham. For the members who did not attend the real estate classes, a second track of education was offered entitled “Build Your Brand with Lasting Impressions” taught by Mary Jean Billingsley. The KAA Auxiliary had their fun, which included networking and a presentation on essential oils.

We were excited to have 16 contestants in the 26th Annual Kansas Auctioneer Championship preliminaries. Ten finalists will be advancing to compete at the Kansas State Fair this fall.

The rookie competition and fun auction were held after dinner where funds were also raised for St. Jude Hospital. Our rookie champion for 2016 is Hunter Sturgis. Our early bird winner is Ross Daniels and the winner of the first-timers’ drawing was Neil Bouray. Both won free registration to next year’s convention.

Saturday was power-packed with lots of educational sessions by Jimmie Dean Coffey, Marty Higgenbotham and a panel discussion on contract work. The sessions included information on technology, multi-par auctions, contract work and the value auctioneers add to society. The auxiliary held their luncheon and conducted their scholarship fund auction. Saturday evening was the awards banquet with many deserving KAA members being recognized.


Friday night rookie contest and fun auction

Saturday night awards and directors’ auction

Sunday morning installation breakfast

2017 Kansas Livestock Championship

Congratulations Neil Bouray – 2017 Kansas Livestock Auctioneer Champion and Reserve Champion Jace Hubert.

2016 Kansas Auctioneer Championship

Congratulations to Yve Rojas, your 2016 Kansas Auctioneer Champion. We’ll update this post with additional details from the contest soon, but here are pictures and video from the competition held September 14 in Hutchinson, Kansas.

Sept/Oct Sunflower

It’s an exciting time of year and you can read up on it all in the September/October issue of the Sunflower.

  • Kansas Auctioneer Championship Finals – Sept. 14th
  • Kansas Auctioneer Day at the State Fair – Sept 14th
  • Note from NAA CEO, Hannes Combest
  • Hall of Fame for KAA & KAA Auxiliary
  • Auction Spotlight – please think about submit to us any auction with unique items for us to spotlight in future issues.

Log in HERE to access the KAA Sunflower.

July Issue of Sunflower

Happy Summer!

Read up on our KAA Auctioneer Day at the Kansas State Fair on September 14th, which will be a day filled with fun and support our finalists in the 2016 Kansas Auctioneer Championship Finals.  We also have information on the 7th Annual Golf Tournament.

Be thinking of who you want to nominate for the KAA & KAA Auxiliary Hall of Fame as the forms to make your submission is available in this issue as well.  The KAA’s is deadline is coming up the beginning of September, while the Auxiliary’s is due in December.

We are looking to feature members in the future issues of the Sunflower. If you have any other suggestions for articles you would like to see, please be sure to let us know by emailing our Executive Director.  Maybe you are going to NAA’s Conference & Show next week and would like to write an article and send some photos for those who aren’t to read in our September/October issue.

Access the Sunflower

7th Annual Golf Tournament

The 7th Annual KAA Golf Tournament will be Thursday, June 9, at the Emporia Golf Course – 1133 Highway 99, Emporia, KS 66801.Golfpix2

The format will be a 4-Man Scramble with a shotgun start at 12:00. Lunch will be provided. The entry fee is $200 per team or $55 per individual if not registering with a team. There will be door prizes, as well as prizes for the winning team, longest drive, longest putt, and closest to pin.

Anyone is welcome to play, the only stipulation is that there has to be at least one KAA member on each team.

As this has always been a great fundraising event for the Association, as well as a great time of fun and fellowship, we are asking members to either sign up as hole sponsors or help us procure hole sponsors. The hole sponsorships are $100 per hole, and hole sponsors will be noted by signage at each hole in addition to receiving additional advertising at the clubhouse.

Please come and join us on Thursday, June 9th at the Emporia Municipal Golf Course at 12:00 noon for the 7th Annual KAA Golf Tournament.

For questions, contact:  Lance Fullerton at (620) 412-7505 or [email protected]

Registration & Golf Hole Sponsorship Form