2013 Kansas Auctioneer Championship Contest

The 22nd Annual Kansas Auctioneers Association Auctioneer Championship was held on September 11th on the Bretz Law Arena stage at the Kansas State Fair.  After the preliminary contest, which was conducted at the KAA Winter Convention in January, ten finalist out of 14 auctioneers were selected to compete for the title of 2013 Kansas Auctioneer Champion.

10 finalist

Our ten finalists were Eric Boone of Yates Center, KS; Ed Dewey of Rossville, KS; Nick Holzrichter of Burrton, KS; Lenny Mullin of Shawnee, KS; To Philips of Scranton, KS; Justin Schultis of Fairbury, NE, Brad Sosebee of Porter, OK; Donnie Stumpff of Cassville, MO; Jeff Temme of Petersburg, NE; and Titus A. Yutzy of Hutchinson, KS.

judges pre contest vistingOur three judges were Mike Jones, CAI, GPPA, BAS -President United Country Auction Services and Texas Auction Academy; Hannes Combest – CEO of the National Auctioneers Association; and Ryan Rhynalds – Auctioneer & 2005 Kansas Auctioneer Champion.  Each contestant answered two questions in an stage interview prior to selling of three items to the State Fair crowd.  Judging was based on specified criteria that included presentation, chant and effective auctioneering, as well as an interview component.

We are proud to announce the following results:

  • 2013 Kansas Auctioneer Champion – Justin Schultis
  • Reserve Champion – Brad Sosebee
  • 3rd place – Lenny Mullin
  • 4th place – Ed Dewey
  • 5th place – Donnie Stumpff