2010 Board of Directors

KAA 2010 Board of Directors

2010 Executive Board

Andy Conser
PO Box 114
Valley Falls, KS 66088
Office 785.806.6921

President Elect
Jack Newcom
112 N. Main
Leon, KS 67074
Office 316.742.3311
Mobile 316.250.0077

Vice President
Lance Fullerton

Executive Director
LaDonna F. Schoen
912 Country Lane
Newton, KS 67114
Phone 316.283.7780
Fax 316.283.7780
Mobile 785.658.5667

Directors with terms expiring 2011

Kevin Ediger
236 Comanche Rd
Windom, KS 67491
Office 620.257.5656
Fax 620.257.5657

Robert Haley
300 W. 101 St. N
Valley Center, KS 67147
[email protected]

Dennis Wendt
23496 County Rd. 1077
Parker, KS 66072
Office 913.898.3337
Fax 913.898.3337

Directors with terms expiring 2012

Eric Blomquist
684 E. K-4 Highway
Assaria, KS 67416
Fax 785.667.7655
Mobile 785.820.1568

Megan McCurdy
2020 N. Siefkin,
Wichita, KS 67208

Byron Bina
1650 S. 3000 Rd
Herington, KS 67444

Directors with terms expiring 2014

Kevin Borger
304 Kisiwa Parkway
Hutchinson, KS 67502
Home 620.669.0926
Mobile 620.704.6606

Bill Eberhardt
430 Walnut
Augusta, KS 67010
Phone 316.775.6637

John Kisner
2306 Vine Street
Hays, KS 67601

2010 winter convention in Wichita

NAA Auxiliary scholarship

Once again the National Auctioneers Association Auxiliary has exciting news concerning the awarding of scholarships in the year 2010. Up to three scholarships of $2,000.00 each will be awarded at the International Conference and Show in Greensboro, NC in July 2010. The Auxiliary Scholarship Program benefits members by assisting their children and or grandchildren as they pursue higher education. The NAA Auxiliary is in its eighteenth year of providing this prestigious award. Eligibility requirements are as follows:

  • A child or a grandchild of an Auxiliary Member with continuous membership since January 1, 2005.
  • Candidates applying must be graduating from an accredited high school and have been accepted into a qualified college or university undergraduate study program or a school of technology or candidates must have completed the past year at a qualified college or a university or a school of technology. (Undergraduate).
  • Candidates can apply for this program more than once, but can only be awarded the Auxiliary Scholarship one time.
  • Auxiliary Scholarship Applications will be distributed by “Request Only” with the request deadline of February 23, 2010.
  • Packets are available December 1, 2009, with a required completion packet return postmarked by March 15, 2010.

To qualify for a Scholarship packet, please contact Elaine Christian at 919-876-0687; PO Box 41368, Raleigh, NC 27629 or email Elaine at [email protected]

I would like to personally encourage you to consider this program for a qualifying family member.

Thank you,

Kim Ward
NAA Auxiliary Scholarship Chair

Winners at Parsons, Kansas, Livestock

The following eight contestants qualified at the Parsons Livestock Market, Parsons, Kansas, today for the 2010 World Livestock Auctioneer Championship, which will be held in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, in June.

The champion was Jim Hertzog, Butler, Missouri. The reserve champion was Bailey Ballou, Elgin, Oklahoma. The runner-up champion was Charly Cummings, Yates Center, Kansas.

The other five contestants to qualify in alphabetical order are: Lance Cochran, Medford, Oklahoma; Kyle Elwood, Abilene, Kansas; Dustin Focht, Stillwater, Oklahoma; Brian Marlin, Inola, Oklahoma; and Jeff Showalter, Broadway, Virginia.

2009 KAA Bid Calling Championship

Charlie, Megan and Justin

Kevin Borger

Byron and Charlie

The Kansas Auctioneers Association, Inc. held their State Bid Calling Contest at the Kansas State Fair on September 16.  Seventeen contestants vied for the championship and the opportunity to compete on a national level.  The competition was judged by Ralph Wade, National Livestock Bid Call Champion; Jodi Sweeney, International Women’s Auctioneer Champion and Mark Younger, International Ringman Competition Champion.  Competing this year were Jeff Temme, Petersburg, NE; John Kisner, Hays, KS; Justin Schultis, Fairbury, NE; Lance Fullerton, ElDorado, KS; Lance Kinderknecht, Almena, KS; Megan McCurdy, Wichita, KS; Thomas Lindsay, Jr., Shawnee, KS; Todd Borgmeyer, Norfolk, NE; Aaron Traffas, Sharon, KS; Russell Puchalla, Rosa, NE; Eric Blomquist, Assaria, KS; Douglas Kasselman, Spearville, KS; Charlie Cummings, Yates Center, KS; Ty Mitchell, Oxford, KS; Kevin Ediger, Windom, KS; Brady James, Council, KS.   After the interview process and the Bid Call Process was completed the declared Champion was Charlie Cummings; 1st went to Megan McCurdy and 2nd went to Justin Schultis.  The current International Auctioneer’s Champion is Kevin Borger of Hutchinson and the past Kansas Champion is Byron Bina, Herington.  Charlie Cummings will represent the KAA at the National Competition next July in Greensboro, North Carolina.

2009 winter convention in Wichita

Wichita—January 22-25, 2009
The Kansas Auctioneers Association held the 1st Annual Livestock Championship Contest on January 22, 2009 at the Eldorado Kansas Livestock Market. Eight contestants vied for the championship position. Each auctioneer sold eight pens of cattle at the live auction. The attendees, sellers and buyers enjoyed the competition round and were helpful in the final decision. The competition was open to all livestock auctioneers in the state of Kansas and will be held prior to the 2010 Winter Convention next year. There was great camaraderie among the contestants and they are ready for the next contest.